Jump to main content
Favorite Keywords Search:Aviation safetyPublic ServicesAbout CAA
menu

search

Service for the Disabled

To make every passenger have a safe and comfortable experience in his or her flight, the airlines and airports do their best to provide the greatest assistance to disabled.
For air travelers with disabilities able to get useful information related to taking a flight easily, we established this platform to provide the relevant information for reference.

Procedures of taking a flight

Step 1: Booking

We suggest that passengers who need assistance book their flights and inform the airlines of their requests in advance for receiving the appropriate service from airlines by their well-preparing such as arranging the proper flight, wheelchair, assistant boarding equipment, etc. According to the recommendation of International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), it’s better to provide the type, power(Watt-hour) and amount of the battery(ies) of a battery powered wheelchair and query the airlines to confirm the wheelchair or the battery(ies) allowable to be carried as checked baggage or not. The regulations may be different from airlines due to their different aircraft types; therefore, again remind passengers of contacting airlines to get the necessary information and assistance.

Step 2: Check-in

For having enough time to complete check-in and the necessary security, immigration and/or customs formalities, we recommend that passengers check in forty minutes before the scheduled departure time for domestic flights and one hour before the scheduled departure time for international flights (it may need three hours in large, busy airports with strict procedures such as those in the U.S.). Since the time required for pre-boarding procedures of airlines may be different and vary at different airports, we also suggest passengers asking the airlines to make sure when to arrive airport. Besides, recommend passengers whose battery(ies) of the wheelchair required to be carried as checked baggage prepare the relevant document of battery(ies) and arrive the check-in counter earlier for processing the procedures smoothly.

Step 3: boarding

Airlines will assist the disabled boarding the airplane prior to other passengers and provide the necessary assistance in depends, including safety demonstration, call button, emergency exit, lavatory, seat map, etc.

The assistance of disputes handling Once disputes arising from the transportation between passengers and airlines, the service counter of the airport will nearby provide the relevant assistance. If there is any other dispute not settled, passengers may ask CAA for further conductions via 「Mail Box of CAA Director General」 (gencaa@mail.caa.gov.tw) or telephone (0800-211-798).

The airlines' website service for disabled.

Airline Website
EVA Air (BR) https://www.evaair.com/en-us/index.html
Mandarin Airlines (AE) https://www.mandarin-airlines.com/
UNI Air (B7) https://www.uniair.com.tw/uniweb/index.aspx
Far Eastern Air Transport (FE) http://www.fat.com.tw/
Tigerair (IT) http://www.tigerairtw.com/tw/en/index.php
Daily Air Corporation (DA) https://www.dailyair.com.tw/
Air China(CA) https://www.airchina.com.tw/TW/GB/Home
China Eastern (MU) http://ca.ceair.com/
China Southern (CZ) http://global.csair.com/TW/GB/Home
Hainan Airlines (HU) https://www.hainanairlines.com/US/US/Home
Shandong Airlines (SC) http://www.sda.cn/
Xiamen Air (MF) http://www.xiamenair.com/en-tw/
Sichuan Airlines (3U) http://www.sichuanair.com/
Shanghai Airlines (FM) http://ca.ceair.com/
Shenzhen Airlines (ZH) http://www.shenzhenair.com/
Spring Airlines(9C) https://en.ch.com/
Juneyao Airlines(HO) http://www.juneyaoair.com/en/
Tianjin Airlines(GS) http://www.tianjin-air.com/
Lucky Air(8L) http://www.luckyair.net/
Air Macau(NX) http://www.airmacau.com.mo/eng/
Cathay Pacific (CX) https://www.cathaypacific.com/cx/en_TW.html
Cathay Dragon (KA) https://www.cathaypacific.com/cx/en_TW.html
Hong Kong Airlines (HX) http://www.hongkongairlines.com/en_HK/homepage
HK Express (UO) http://www.hkexpress.com/en-hk
Japan Airlines (JL) http://www.tw.jal.com/twl/en/
All Nippon Airways (NH) http://www.ana.co.jp/asw/wws/tw/e/
Vanilla Air(JW) https://www.vanilla-air.com/en/
Jetstar Japan(GK) http://www.jetstar.com/au/en/home
Peach Aviation (MM) http://www.flypeach.com/pc/en
Korean Air (KE) https://www.koreanair.com/global/en.html
Asiana Airlines (OZ) https://flyasiana.com/
Air Busan (BX) https://en.airbusan.com/content/individual/?
T"way Airlines (TW) https://www.twayair.com/main.do?_langCode=EN
EastarJet (ZE) http://www.eastarjet.com.tw/
Jeju Air(7C) http://www.jejuair.net/jejuair/main.jsp
Jin Air (LJ) http://www.jinair.com/Language/ENG/
Jetstar Asia (3K) http://www.jetstar.com/hk/en/home
Tigerair Singapore (TR) http://www.tigerairtw.com/tw/en/index.php
Singapore Airlines (SQ) http://www.singaporeair.com/en_UK/tw/home
Scoot (TZ) http://www.flyscoot.com/en/
United Airlines(UA) https://www.united.com/ual/en/tw/
Delta Air Lines (DL) https://www.delta.com/
American Airlines (AA) https://www.aa.com/pubcontent/en_HK/index.jsp
Hawaiian Airlines (HA) https://www.hawaiianairlines.com/
Emirates Airlines (EK) https://www.emirates.com/ar/english/
KLM Royal Dutch Airlines (KL) https://www.klm.com/home/tw/en
Lufthansa (LH) http://www.lufthansa.com/tw/en/Homepage
Turkish Airlines (TK) https://www.turkishairlines.com/en-us/index.html
Air India(AI) http://www.airindia.in/index.htm
Avianca Airlines (AV) http://www.avianca.com/en-otr/?nvba=1
Alitalia (AZ) https://www.alitalia.com/en_us/
Air Canada (AC) https://www.aircanada.com/us/en/aco/home.html
Vietnam Airlines (VN) https://www.vietnamairlines.com/tw/en/home
VietJet Air (VJ) http://www.vietjetair.com/Sites/Web/en-US/Home
Jetstar (BL) http://www.jetstar.com/hk/en/home
Thai Airways (TG) http://www.thaiairways.com/en/index.page
Bangkok Airways (PG) http://www.bangkokair.com/
NokScoot (XW) http://www.nokscoot.com/en/
Garuda Indonesia (GA) https://www.garuda-indonesia.com/hk/en/index.page
Philippine Airlines (PR) https://www.philippineairlines.com/en/tc/home
Cebu Pacific Air (5J) https://www.cebupacificair.com/en-us
Malaysia Airlines Berhad (MH) https://www.malaysiaairlines.com/tw/en.html
AirAsia (AK) http://www.airasia.com/tw/en/home.page
AirAsia X (D7) http://www.airasia.com/tw/en/home.page
Malindo Air(OD) http://www.malindoair.com/tw/en/

The airport' website service for disabled.

Airport Website
Taoyuan International Airport https://www.taoyuan-airport.com/english/disability_transportation
Kaohsiung International Airport https://www.kia.gov.tw/English/
Taipei/Songshan International Airport https://www.tsa.gov.tw/tsa/en/home.aspx
Taichung International Airport http://www.tca.gov.tw/eng/index.php?code=list&ids=308#.WQBdlNKGOM8
Chiayi Airport http://www.cya.gov.tw/web/english/index.asp
Tainan Airport http://www.tna.gov.tw/en/index.php?option=com_tnn_services&id=4
Hualien Airport http://www.hulairport.gov.tw/e_content/handicapped/handicapped01.aspx
Taitung Airport http://www.tta.gov.tw/en/en6.asp
Kinmen Airport http://www.kma.gov.tw/English/Service/s4_e1.aspx
Penghu Airport http://www.mkport.gov.tw/English/tourist/service01.aspx
Last updated: 2019/03/27 16:43
TOP